National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championship 2024: Midway Thrills and Excitement in Nashik

By Chessvicky Reporter - March 7, 2024

In the heart of Nashik, Maharashtra, at the Shankaracharya Nyas, the National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championship 2024 has entered its midway point, leaving chess enthusiasts in awe of the strategic brilliance on display. From March 4 to March 7, 2024, the venue has witnessed a chess extravaganza, blending masterful play, unexpected twists, and the relentless pursuit of victory.

Current Standings (After 8 Rounds):

GM Ghosh Diptayan - 7Pts
GM Raja, Rithvik - 7Pts
IM Aronyak Ghosh - 6.5Pts
IM Hari Madhavan N B - 6.5Pts
GM Prraneeth Vuppala - 6.5Pts

Thrilling Upsets and Surprises:

The 6th round brought an unexpected turn as Commonwealth winner GM Mitrabha Guha faced off against the formidable IM Sammed Shete. The chessboard transformed into a battleground of strategic maneuvers, resulting in a surprising victory for Shete. The intricate moves of this encounter are set to become a subject of analysis and discussion among chess enthusiasts.

Mitrabha Guha vs. Sammed Shete
(Round 6):

[1.c4 Nf6 2.Nf3 c5 3.g3 g6 4.Bg2 Bg7 5.d4 O-O 6.O-O d6 7.b3 Nc6 8.Bb2 Bg4 9.d5 Bxf3 10.exf3 Nd4 11.Nc3 Nd7 12.f4 Rb8 13.Ne2 Nf3+ 14.Bxf3 Bxb2 15.Rb1 Bg7 16.h4 b5 17.Qd2 bxc4 18.bxc4 Qc7 19.Qe3 Bf6 20.g4 Rfe8 21.g5 Bg7 22.Kg2 Rb4 23.Qd3 Reb8 24.Bg4 Rb2 25.h5 Nf8 26.f5 Qa5 27.fxg6 hxg6 28.Rbd1 Qxa2 29.Qe4 Qc2 30.Rd3 R8b1 31.Rxb1 Rxb1 32.Re3 Qd1 33.Rh3 Qf1+ 34.Kg3 Be5+ 35.Kf3 Rb2 36.Qd3 Nh7 37.Ke3 Nxg5 38.hxg6 Nxh3 39.gxf7+ Kg7 40.f8=Q+ Kxf8 41.Qf5+ Bf6 42.Bh5 Qxf2+. 0-1]

Local Talent Shines:

Amidst the grandmaster clashes, local hero CM Pimpalkhare Vedant from Nashik has carved his own path, showcasing brilliant strategic play that has earned him acclaim and cheers from the home crowd.

Women's Section Highlight:

In the women's section, WGM Priyanka Nutakki from Andhra Pradesh has been a standout performer with an impressive 5.5 points.

Arbiters, Support, and Organizing Team:

Behind the scenes, a dedicated team of arbiters and support staff plays a crucial role in ensuring the smooth conduct of the championship. Led by Chief Arbiter IA Anantharam R and Deputy Chief Arbiter IA Guru Dayal Prajapati, the team includes a lineup of skilled arbiters and support members:

IA Bansod Swapnil, IA Ladhe Mohit, IA Sandesh Nagarnaik, IA Thakare Pravin, IA Ajinkya Pingale, IA Gourav Kumar Ray, IA Upalavikar Pornima, IA Kulkarni Juily, FA Shardul Tapase, FA Pawar Yashwant, FA Shraddha Vinchwekar, SNA Himani Bajaj, IA Mangesh Gambhire.

Their meticulous efforts contribute to the seamless orchestration of this chess spectacle.

The success of the championship wouldn't be possible without the tireless efforts of the organizing team, led by Shri. Vinay Bele. Alongside him, the team comprising Sunil Sharma, Jayesh Bhandari, Dr. Sachin Vyavhare, Ajinkya Tarte, and Jayram Sonawane has ensured that every detail is meticulously taken care of.

Closing Ceremony on the Horizon:

Eagerly awaited by the chess community, the closing ceremony promises to be a grand affair where champions will be crowned, and the collective spirit of the participants acknowledged. The Nashik District Chess Association, under the leadership of Shri. Vinay Bele and his dedicated team, has once again demonstrated its commitment to delivering a memorable chess spectacle.

Future Moves and Beyond:

As the National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championship 2024 unfolds, it not only highlights the current chess prowess but also paves the way for the future of chess in Nashik. The tournament's success is a beacon for aspiring players, and the Nashik District Chess Association's dedication to the game promises continued growth and excitement.

Stay tuned as the chess drama unfolds, reaching its climax in what is sure to be a thrilling conclusion to the National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championship 2024 in Nashik!